What's in it for me?

LDR is a learning series designed for emerging non-profit leaders looking to build their capacity to manage and lead social change. This is a “learn through doing” opportunity geared to help you grow your leadership skills and your network. Here's how.

Can I contact LDR alumni?

Yes!  LDR Ambassadors are available to share their LDR experiences and answer any questions.  Below is a list of alumni that you can contact.

  • Jose Alfaro - jalfaro@necharters.org
  • Jessica Buchanan - buchananjessicaleigh@gmail.com
  • Jessica Carso - jcarso@comcast.net
  • Tenesha Grant - tgrant@mercyhousingct.org
  • Steve Paul - SPaul@stamfordacademy.org
  • Marina Rodriguez - marina@allourkin.org
  • Meg Taylor - meg.taylor@capitolsquash.org
  • Lindsey Tengatenga - lindseyt@publicallies.org
  • Mirellise Vazquez - mirellise@tauckfoundation.org
  • Keyairra Wright - keyairra.wright@teachforamerica.org

What is expected of me?​

LDR participants make a commitment to:

  1.  Prepare for and fully participate in all Roundtable sessions.
  2. Complete a leadership project as well as other LDR assignments.
  3.  Stay involved in future evaluation efforts for a period of 5 years to determine program effectiveness.

For more information, click here

Where and when will the LDR Program be held?

Click HERE to download the LDR schedule. These locations are specific to each cohort—for example, you will not be able to attend some sessions in Hartford and others in Fairfield. If accepted to the Program, you will be accepted into the Hartford Region or the Fairfield County Cohort.

Regular sessions take place midday; a light lunch is provided. Three longer days sessions scheduled to provide time for special projects, guests and group work. Coaching calls are scheduled individually over the course of the Program, at a mutually convenient time for participant and coach. Additionally, an opportunity to shadow a nonprofit executive will also be scheduled at a mutually convenient time.

What is expected of Executive Directors in addition to the letter of recommendation?

The ED's support is a critical part of the participant's learning experience.  During the Program, participants will need the ED’s feedback and support in order to make the most of the LDR Project and the overall experience.  The program is geared to making a strong link between the sessions and the organizations where each member is employed.

I am already an Executive Director, am I eligible to participate in LDR?

The LDR Program is open to nonprofit professionals at the executive level of leadership. Participants at the executive level bring a unique perspective that adds value to the LDR cohort experience. 

I am the Executive Director of my organization; who should write my letter of recommendation?

Please request a letter of recommendation from the Board Chair of your organization.

What’s the financial commitment on my part?

The Program is available at the reduced cost of $1,500 per person thanks to our generous sponsors. Participants are also expected to purchase and read two books.

Are Scholarships Available?

Need-based scholarships are available. For more information about scholarships, please Contact Us.